STUDY AND RESEARCH ENVIRONMENT

Hong Kong provides a vigorous and stimulating intellectual climate. Its geographic location bridges East and West, China and the rest of the world, and Northeast Asia and Southeast Asia. The city's open society and tradition of academic freedom, and its massive flow of people and information, make it an ideal place to carry out regional and interdisciplinary research. This is as true today, as it ever has been in post-colonial Hong Kong.

The Chinese University of Hong Kong is located on a mountain by the sea in the New Territories of Hong Kong, providing breathtaking views of Tolo Harbour and its surrounding peaks, as well as ready access to downtown Hong Kong. The university library system has a rich collection of books and periodicals in English, Chinese and other languages. The Universities Service Centre For China Studies, located on the campus, owns one of the world's best collections of documents and publications for research on contemporary China. Other research centres on campus, including the Hong Kong Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies, the Research Institute for the Humanities, the Hong Kong-America Center, Centre for the Study of Religion and Chinese Society and the Institute of Chinese Studies, sponsor research projects and conferences of interest to anthropologists and invite specialists from throughout the world.

The Chinese University of Hong Kong is the only tertiary institution in Hong Kong with an anthropology department. It offers major and minor programmes, as well as Master's and Ph.D. programmes. Besides local students, the department also has students from mainland China, Taiwan, Japan, Europe, South and Southeast Asia and the USA studying in its graduate programmes.

The department has various types of equipment required for research, such as video cameras, video editing machines, and personal computers. There is also a collection of ancient and Stone Age fossils from the different continents, costumes and daily utensils of different ethnic groups in China, as well as handicraft from Japan and Southeast Asia. The department has close collaborative relationships with anthropological research centers and museums in Hong Kong, mainland China, Taiwan and other countries. Undergraduates can also take part in the summer internship programme to the United Kingdom and Australia, in addition to the academic and cultural exchanges offered by the University.

学习环境

香港社会为学者提供一个富有活力而促进思考的学术气候。香港的地理位置连接东西方,为中国与世界其他地区、东北亚与东南亚衔接之处。香港开放的社会以及学术自由的传统,加上大量流经香港的人才和讯息,使其成为地域研究或跨学科研究的理想地方。这种情况在97年以后并未改变。

香港中文大学位于香港新界,校舍依山而立,俯瞰吐露港,环境怡人。大学图书馆藏有丰富的中文、英文及其他语文的书刊。而中国研究服务中心所藏当代中国研究资料,更是世界知名。校内其他相关研究所包括:香港亚太研究所、人文学科研究所、港美学术交流中心、宗教和中国社会研究中心,及中国文化研究所等。各研究所均资助人类学家进行研究计划,举办研讨会,及邀请世界各地专家来港交流。

香港中文大学是香港唯一开设人类学系的专上院校,提供主修、副修、硕士及博士课程。除了香港学生,还有来自内地、台湾、日本、南亚、东南亚、欧洲以及美国的研究生在本系攻读。

本系备有多种研究器材,包括摄录机、影片剪接器材和个人电脑等,另亦藏有各大洲石器及古人类化石标本,中国民族服饰和日常生活器具,以及日本和东南亚的手工艺品等。本系与香港、内地、台湾和海外的民族研究所、博物馆等维持密切的合作关系,本科生可在参加大学提供的学术文化交流外,参与暑期实习计划,到英国、澳洲等地作短期交流。