MA Programme
MPhil Programme
PhD Programme
Recommended Background Readings
Frequently Asked Questions
MA PROGRAMME

The goal of the programme is to teach students the basic theories and methods of social and cultural anthropology and to give them a broad understanding of anthropology's different topics. Students will learn to develop their abilities of critical, independent and creative thinking in analyzing contemporary social and political issues, and understanding the diversity of human cultures and societies.

A key feature and major advantage of the Programme is that students are able to take courses that fit their background and interest. For example, foreign students can concentrate on Chinese society and culture, while students working in museums can concentrate on the anthropology of tourism, museums, archaeology, and other areas relevant to their work. 

The M.A. Programme is designed for people who have not majored in anthropology but wish to receive a formal education in the discipline. Work experience is desirable, so that students can better relate coursework to their profession. Candidates with a strong background in social sciences may wish to concentrate on one of the Department's specializations such as the Anthropology of East Asia or Ethnicity and Identity. 

Graduates of the MA Programme in Anthropology are expected to:

  1. comprehend anthropology's subfields and range of topics;
  2. understand the different theories that explain human cultural and societal diversity and complexity;
  3. understand in some depth the major findings and research in areas of anthropology that suit particular students’ individual interests. These areas include (a) archaeology and cultural heritage, (b) tourism and cultural representation, (c) globalization, economy and power, (d) culture and human relations, (e) Chinese cultures and societies, (f) values, beliefs and worldviews, (g) food, health and the body, and (h) anthropological and ethnographic methods; and;
  4. be able to use anthropological ways of thinking to analyze critically, independently and creatively cultural, social and political issues past and present.

人類學文學碩士課程
人類學哲學碩士課程
人類學哲學博士課程
建議讀物
常見問題
人類學文學碩士課程

本課程旨在教導學生社會及文化人類學的基本理論和研究方法,並讓學生對人類學的不同研究範疇有所瞭解。課程培訓學生以批判、獨立及創造性思維去分析當代社會及政治議題,使學生對人類社會及文化的多樣性有更深認識。

本課程的主要特色和優點是學生能選修符合他們背景及興趣的科目。例如,外國學生能專修有關中國社會及文化的科目;在博物館工作的學生可修讀旅遊人類學、博物館學、考古學及與他們工作相關的其他科目。

文學碩士課程為希望接受人類學系統訓練的人士而設,申請者無需具備人類學學士學位。有工作經驗的學生能更容易將課程內容與自己的職業聯繫起來。具備社會科學背景的學生亦可專注修讀學系的重點研究範圍如東亞人類學、民族與身份認同等。

人類學文學碩士課程的畢業生將:

  1. 理解人類學的子域和主題範圍;
  2. 認識有關人類文化及社會多樣化的各種理論;
  3. 根據學生的興趣來學習不同的人類學領域和研究。 這些領域包括(a)考古學和文化遺產,(b)旅遊和文化代表性,(c)全球化、經濟和權力,(d)文化和人際關係,(e)中國文化和社會,(f)價值觀、信仰和世界觀,(g) 食物、健康和身體,和(h)人類學和民族誌方法; 和
  4. 能夠使用人類學思維方式,以批判、獨立及創造性的角度來分析過去和現在文化、社會和政治等問題。