Arts and Languages Panel


Chairperson: Professor Tang Wai Lan Gladys
Members: Professor Teresa Kuan
  Professor Yim Chi Hung Lawrence
  Professor Lim Song Hwee Note 1
  Professor James Frankel Note 2
  Professor David Huddart Note 3
  Professor Michael O'Sullivan Note 4
  Professor Wan Chui Ki Maggie
  Professor Poo Mu Chou Note 5
  Professor Jeremy Yellen
  Professor Cheung Yam Leung Lawrence
  Professor Cheong Wai Ling
  Professor Saulius Geniusas
  Professor Wong Wang Chi Lawrence Note 5
  Professor Lai Chi Tim
  Professor Kristof Van Den Troost
Secretary: Ms. May Wong
Undersecretary: Miss. Kathy Ip


Terms of reference:

  1. To look into research policy issues and make appropriate recommendations;
  2. To create conditions to stimulate quality research;
  3. To set up and maintain the mechanisms for research project selection and funding;
  4. To set up and maintain the mechanisms for monitoring the quality of research projects;
  5. To compile an annual report on research projects at the University;
  6. To compile an annual report on research projects supported by UGC funds for submission to AAPC and the University Senate and then to the UGC;
  7. To foster the development of multi-disciplinary research endeavours across faculties, schools and developments; and
  8. To consider other research related matters as directed by the Vice-Chancellor.


The Panel will serve from 1 August 2020 to 31 July 2022.

Note 1: Professor Lim will serve between 1 to 31 August 2020 and between 1 September 2021 and 31 August 2022.
Note 2: Professor Frankel will serve between 1 September 2020 and 31 August 2021.
Note 3: Professor Huddart will serve between 1 August 2021 and 31 July 2022.
Note 4: Professor O’Sullivan will serve between 1 August 2020 and 31 July 2021.
Note 5: Professor Poo and Professor Wong will serve until 31 July 2021.